E-CAM is a partnership of 16 CECAM (Centre Européen de Calcul Atomique et Moléculairenodes, 3 PRACE (Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe) Centres, 12 industrial partners and 1 Centre for Industrial Computing (Hartree Centre for HPC in Industry).

E-CAM sits within the CECAM scientific community. CECAM (Centre Européen de Calcul Atomique and Moleculaire) was founded in Paris in 1969 by Dr. Carl Moser and is devoted to the promotion of fundamental research on advanced computational methods and to their application to important problems in frontier areas of science and technology. Today CECAM is structured as 18 trans European nodes (plus one node in Israel) with its headquarters in Lausanne, Switzerland.

E-CAM wants to address deficiencies in:

  • Software: We need algorithmic innovation as well as refactoring of legacy code
  • Human Expertise: we need to train more computational scientists
  • Metadata: We need easier and better resource discovery and management


Beneficiary Institutions:

École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland (CECAM HQ) – Coordinator
University College Dublin, Ireland (CECAM-IRL Node)
Freie Universität Berlin, Germany (CECAM-DE-MMS Node)
Universita degli Studi di Roma La Sapienza, Italy (CECAM-IT-SIMUL Node)
Centre national de la recherche scientifique, France (CECAM-FR-MOSER Node)
Technische Universität Wien, Austria (CECAM-AT Node)
University of Cambridge, United Kingdom (CECAM-UK-JCMAXWELL Node)
Max-Planck-Institut für Polymerforschung, Germany (CECAM-DE-SMSM Node)
École Normale Supérieure de Lyon, France (CECAM-FR-RA Node)
Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany (CECAM-DE-JUELICH Node)
Universitat de Barcelona, Spain (CECAM-ES Node)
Daresbury Laboratory, Scientific and Technology Facilities Council, United Kingdom (CECAM-UK-HARTREE Node)
Scuola Internazionale Superiore Di Trieste, Italy (CECAM-IT-SIDE Node)
Universiteit van Amsterdam, Netherlands (CECAM-NL Node)
Scuola Normale Superiore Pisa, Italy (CECAM-IT-SMART Node)
Aalto University, Finland (CECAM-FI Node)
CSC-IT Centre for Science Ltd, Finland
Irish Centre for High-End Computing, Ireland